Wakatobi is the name of an islands and regency located in an area of Southeast Sulawesi, Indonesia. The capital of the regency is located in Wangi-Wangi.
Wakatobi is also the name of a national park established in 1996. The national park consists of marine biodiversity hotspot known as Wallacea and coral reefs. Wakatobi Islands is a part of the Coral Triangle and it contains one of the richest marine biodiversity on earth. This marine national park is considered as one of the highest priorities of marine conservation in Indonesia.

Wakatobi National Park is consists of four larger islands: Wangi-Wangi, Kaledupa, Tomia and Binongko, as well as many small islands such as Tokobao, North Lintea, South Lintea, Kampenaune, Hoga and Tolandono. It is the third largest marine park in Indonesia and people also call it as “Underwater Nirwana”. Wakatobi has the highest number of reef and fish species in the world and it is the second only to the Great Barrier Reef in Australia. It is the habitat of large and small fish species, dolphins, turtles and whales.

 Beside the underwater beauty, Wakatobi has also other beauty and richness such as white sandy beach, clear sea water, sunset in every islands edge and historical sites which tell the traces of the past Wakatobi. Here you can also find cultural scenaries such as old village with its pillar house, traditional waving, blacksmiths, Bajo tribe and various particular dances. This nature and culture heritages put Wakatobi as the world's famous marine tourism objects.


1. Scuba Diving - Wakatobi is world famous to many serene dive sites
2. Dolphin Watching - if you're lucky you'll spot a pack of dolphin on your way to the island

1. Diving at Tomia

Wakatobi has been known as an "Underwater Nirwana", especially for the ocean lovers. Located in the Asia-Pacific World Coral Triangle, Wakatobi Islands offer clear waters and a rich bio-diverse underwater life. It hosts 942 fish species and 750 coral reef species of 850 globally. It contains one of the richest marine biodiversity on earth. Here you can indulge yourself with the splendor of marine’s life by diving or snorkeling almost anywhere around the island.

Tomia is one of the islands in Wakatobi. It is only 3 hours trip from Wangi-wangi via speedboat. Here, not only you can explore the majestic underwater life of Wakatobi but you can also enjoy the white sandy beach. Tomia originally is also a district in Wakatobi consists of several small islands. One of the most famous diving sites in Tomia is Mari Mabuk or literally translated us “Let’s Get High”. Various types of coral reefs can be seen here; especially soft corals and coral table decorated with a variety of species bump-head, parrot fish, lion fish, clown fish, turtles and sea snakes. They are definitely ready to get you high by the beauty of underwater life.

Here you can also visit Maya Beach known for its white sandy beach and a diving spot which has rows of coral reefs with flower garden shaped, and the variety of barracuda fishes and other colorful reef fishes. Other beaches worth visiting around Tomia district are Ndaa Beach, Hu’untete Beach, Hondua Beach, Waitii Beachand Soha Beach.

However, visiting Tomia Island won’t be complete if you haven’t tasted the excitement of standing on Kahianga Top. The top is located in highland and it takes about 15 minutes ride from the capital Tomia district. By standing on Kahianga Top, you see the entire view of Tomia beauty; its white sand beaches, small islands, a clump of trees and sunset.

2. Visit Wangi-Wangi and Bajo in Mola

Wangi-wangi is one of the four main islands that make up the Wakatobi Islands and it is the gateway to the Wakatobi Marine National Park. Wangi-wangi, or Wanci as it is often called, is a favourite destination for marine tourism enthusiasts. The Wangi-Wangi waters are a magnificent underwater paradise, rich in stunning coral reefs and an impressive variety of marine life to match. Above the waters, there are several historical sites you can visit on Wangi-wangi such as Tindo Fort about 15 minutes from Wanci, Liya Fort and Keraton Liya Mosque about 8 kilo from Wanci, Mandati Tonga Fort, Togo Malengo Fort and the famous Lighthouse of Wangi-wangi.

Above the water, you can meet the Bajo tribe in Mola. Mola is located in the western part of Wangi-Wangi, one of the largest islands in Wakatobi District. It is located just 1,5 km from Wanci, the capital of Wakatobi District, and 28 km from Matahora Airport.

Mola is inhabited by the Bajo, a seafaring people, who have settled on Wangi-Wangi Island since 1958. The Bajo tribe or Sea Gypsies lives on the ocean where the entire villages are built on stilts and connected by wooden bridges over large expanses of coral reefs and rocks in the middle of the sea. They are sustained completely and exclusively by the ocean. Not only living on the ocean, this community also has a broad knowledge and skills about the ocean. Even they have exceptional free-diving abilities which through years of practice have acquired physical adaptations that enable them to see better and dive longer underwater.

Exploring this island surely will enrich your experience with marine life, under

You can start your journey to Wakatobi with those routes:

  1. From Jakarta

From Soekarno-Hatta International Airport, you can take a flight to Matahora Airport at Wangi-wangi. It takes about 5 hours duration with one stop at Makassar. Or you can take your flight to Bau-Bau Airport in Buton Island which takes about 5 hours too with one stop at Makassar. From Bau-Bau, you can take a speedboat from Murhum Port to Wanci Port in Wangi-wangi. The duration is about 3-4 hours.

  1. From Bali

From Bali, there is a direct chartered flight dedicated for only the visitor of Wakatobi dive resort in Tomia. However, there are also regular flights from Denpasar to Wakatobi. From Ngurah Rai Airport, you can take a flight to Matahora Airport in Wangi-wangi via Bima, Makassar. It takes about 9 hours duration.

Or you can fly to Bau-bau via Bima, Makassar. It also takes 9 hours duration. After that, you can go to Murhum port and take a speedboat to Wanci port in Wangi-wangi.

  1. From Makassar

From Makassar you can take direct flight to Matahora Airport in Wangi-wangi via Kendari. The duration is around 2.5 hours.

No Open Trip scheduled at this point.